Sunday, June 28, 2009

"I'll eat whatever I want, I'm running a freakin marathon tomorrow!!" That's what Alycia, Matt and I kept saying to each other as we stuffed ourselves with anything and everything at The Cheesecake Factory on Friday night. Saturday was the day we would all be running our first marathon - the Rock n Roll Seattle Inaugural Marathon.

After dinner we went home and all forced ourselves to go to bed so we could be up and out of the house by 5:30. Of course I couldn't fall asleep and when I did it was only to be woken up like an hour later. Some neighbors dog was barking non stop. It was pretty annoying, but then I laughed to myself because it reminded me of Brian Regan's comedy about dogs barking. "Hey, it's nice and quiet out here, why don't I bark it up for no reason". I might have slept a little bit more after that, but either way I got up at 5, put on my running clothes, made sure we all had everything we needed and the three of us got in Alycia's car to head to the starting point in Tukwila. I was still extremely full from the night before so I just ate a protein bar and a GU on the way there and called it good.

We got there and there were people everywhere stretching and jogging in place to warm up their muscles. 25 thousand people actually. The excitement started to build. Holy crap I'm running a marathon! We checked our gear, found the bathroom then looked for our corral. The race started at 7AM but we were all in the 24th corral so we didn't start running until 7:40. I only had two goals in mind for this marathon - finish in less than 5 hours and run the entire time without stopping at all. I was doing great on both goals until about mile 18 or 19. I could not wait any longer, I had to use the restroom. Those few seconds of rest gave me a new burst of energy and excitement that I was almost done and I shot out of that port-o-potty and basically sprinted to the end. I wanted to make up for lost time, plus I'm not going to lie, I wanted to beat my brother and step sister. I had passed them miles before, but I was only a few minutes ahead of them and they could have passed while I was in the bathroom. When I passed the 25 mile mark and only had 1.2 miles left to go I really couldn't believe it. I didn't even feel tired or short of breath or anything. I thought it must be a lie, there's got to be more than that left to go. Until I crossed the finish line right in front of Qwest feild in Seattle and they handed me my medal and took my photo, I was convinced that sign was misplaced. But it wasn't so. I really was done and I finished in 4 hours and 21 minutes stopping only once. And yes I beat Matt and Alycia. (only by like 2 and 10 min) They did amazing too though, they both ran the entire time with a bathroom break as well!

So it's done, I've run a marathon! I decided I want to run one every year. (Could that be a career, running marathons around the world? Oh rad, I'm looking into it.) Maybe next year I will wear sunscreen.

I also wanted to write about how I attended the Third Eye Blind concert last weekend, but words can't really describe that experience. Maybe it's because they are one of my all time favorite bands, but that was honestly the best concert ever. I should know, I've been to my share of concerts plus yours.

Friday, June 5, 2009

I've had a request to update this thing, so here you go.

I don't really have a lot to write about/ I really don't care to write much.

this is why WA in the summer is rad and you should live here:

  • my step grandma has a house on the lake which is 15 min away which = canoeing, swimming, paddle boating, fires/bbq's at any and all times
  • the weather is perfect - 80 mixed with some days of rain
  • festivals at Seattle Center basically weekly
  • canoeing at the arboretum
  • Mariner's games - Griffey is back (My brother and I saw him driving the other day. Exciting)
  • Seafair (of course this year I will be in Europe so I have to miss it. I seriously am pissed)
  • endless opportunities to go swimming or boating etc. (I live within 30 min of at least 3 gorgeous lakes)
  • tons of trails and places to hike
  • I could have stopped after the 1st one. That's enough for me to be sold.
  • a lot more

If you have ever been here, stop denying yourself and just move here already. You know you want to do it. There's nothing better. I should sell real estate for WA state. Nope, not happening.

The new Taking Back Sunday CD is pretty much amazing and if you haven't given yourself the pleasure of at least listening to "Sink Into Me", do so immediately. Actually watch the video. Somehow Adam has outdone his own gorgeousness yet again. Well done. If only Kelly and I could watch it together like we did with "Makedamnsure" and swoon over the way he holds that microphone.

Holy crap, I run a marathon in like 3 weeks. Oh just a tip for anyone that may be training for a marathon - don't go for a 20 mile run at 2PM when it's 85 out with no water. (I never run with water, it makes my stomach hurt) But do take GU packs, they taste so good and fit neatly in my sports bra next to my keys.

Friday, May 15, 2009

Wow, this place is pretty ugly. That's what I was thinking as I looked out the window on my plane ride to Utah. Why the eff am I here again? Oh yah to visit those three ladies I so happily abandoned 3 months ago and to surprise my mom. I got off the plane and got in the car with Kristina and Janie (thanks for coming too Kelly, oh wait that's right, you didn't. My mistake.) and headed back to Provo.

We stopped at Maverick and continued last summers tradition of getting as much frozen yogurt as you can in that small bowl without them getting mad and making us pay more. Then after walking through Nordstom to see who was working and say my hello's we went to Costco for sample time. (another tradition which I continue to practice here with Mitch almost weekly) I had every intention of buying one of the Beatles albums that I don't have since they sell them there for 11.99, but of course the one time they don't have any Beatles albums in stock was this time. None of the other Cd's were worth adding to my collection, and if they were I already had them. So we left empty handed, but really when don't I leave empty handed from Costco. I really only go for samples. Then we got Kelly and headed to the center of the Pleasantville bubble that is Provo. As we got to their apartment right by campus I immediately wanted to be back in the real world (Seattle, or really anywhere else) but I wanted to be with these three ladies more.

I had no intention of spending the next like 8 hours watching movies, but it happened. It began when Kristina and I went to the dollar movies to kill time til my sister was off work so we could go surprise my mom. Then after surprising her and getting Cafe Rio my mom wanted to rent a movie and watch it together. As Michelle and I headed back to Provo, Janie called me and said to meet everyone at the dollar movies, so of course I did. Then it was after midnight and time to practice another tradition- getting ready for bed while Janie and I have laugh attacks from making "the face" at each other and generally be retarded. (this always ends in one of the already sleeping roommates to poke their head out of there room and ask us to be quiet)

Thursday morning began with yet another tradition - me making oatmeal for breakfast for everyone. Delicious. Then Janie, Kristina and I went to hike the Y. The best part of that hike is a toss up. Either the 40 something year old man drenched in sweat running down as we were going up and stopping to jog in place as he told us he runs the Y 6 days a week and how it is such a beautiful day etc etc, or the adorable 3 or 4 year old boy with his dad that after we took a picture for them told us that we talk a lot. Maybe it could have been the part when we called Kelly and told her to look at the Y from the apartment because we were all flashing her, then we turned around and there was a family behind us. That one probably wins. The rest of the day was filled with swimming; cafe rio; Janie dying Kelly's, Kristina's and my hair; and meeting up with my other Kelly and attempting to go 80's dancing. We thought is was free for ladies if u get there before 11 but we got there and apparently it's til before 10. We said fine eff that, it's not worth $7 and left.

Friday began with another round of oatmeal. (it just comes with living with me, that or cream of wheat, oh joyous) Everyone had things to do so Janie and I were left to ourselves, giving us some good wife and wife time. We spent that time grocery shopping then listening to music as we sat in the circle chair and played sudoku. We're very in love. Then we went to meet Michelle and my mom for lunch at India Palace. Bombay House doesn't open til 4, I was pissed, but the buffet at India Palace was enough to remind me of my never forgotten desire to visit/live in India. I then said my goodbyes and got in the car with my mom to head to the airport. A few hours later I was happily home again and my quick 2 and a half day visit to UT was complete.

There could possible be more I was planning to write but someone has started my new favorite movie- Slumdog Millionaire - and I must abandon this to watch with my full attention.

Tuesday, May 12, 2009

June 2 - Taking Back Sunday New Again
June 9 - Placebo Battle for the Sun
June 16 - Incubus Monuments and Melodies
June 23 - Third Eye Blind Ursa Major

It looks like I will be spending a lot of money on Cd's this June, sweet. I'm most excited for 3eb. Though that release date isn't definite yet I'm still going to make one of those construction paper chains (like in elementary school at Christmas time) and rip one ring off each night until I'm holding that album in my hands. OK I probably won't, but I will in my mind. They are coming in concert on June 20th and if for any reason I end up not being able to go I will go on some sort of rampage.

Wednesday, April 22, 2009

How Do You Do It, Make Me Feel Like I Do

My jaw literally dropped and I froze as I let my ears focus into the familiar tones of the most beautiful male singing voice one could ever hear. I dropped the clothes I had been folding and went to my radio to turn it up. Could it be? I think I'm going to throw up, it is!!! That voice could only belong to one: Brandon Boyd, in the brand new Incubus song "Black Heart Inertia". I almost couldn't contain myself in the unfathomable joy I was not expecting to experience this morning as I was cleaning my room accompanied by the sounds of 107.7 The End. This (clearly) was the first time I had ever heard their brand new track off of their upcoming album, which unfortunately contains only two new tracks and the rest are greatest hits. Since I own all the Incubus albums and therefore have all those songs you would think I would opt not to buy this one when it comes out on June 16 (I'm already counting down). But remember who is typing this blog, the girl who hates burned CD's and downloading music and actually has the real albums to back up at least 75% of the music on her iPod. So for those two new songs, I need the album. Plus there could be pictures of Brandon inside. To me he is the quintessential "hot guy" and I personally think every guy should strive to look more like him.


How can you not be in love with that?

I solved my recent dilemma in purchasing two tickets to the Cold War Kids concert tonight. I decided to leave the decision up to fate as to whether I should go to The Killers or Cold War Kids and it answered with The Killers show selling out, which I figured it would. I'm perfectly fine with that, I'm a bigger Cold War Kids fan anyway. So in a matter of hours my brother and I will be at Showbox enjoying the sounds of one of the better bands that has emerged over the last few years.

All in all I'm in love with Incubus and generally obsessed with music.

Wednesday, April 8, 2009

Oh Those Days In The Sun, They Bring A Tear To My Eye

The follows is dedicated to Miss Opalgene

I was talking to OP on the phone yesterday, which hasn't happened in a while, but it was my birthday and she called me. I take all the blame, by the way, as to why we haven't talked a lot since you moved OP. We ALL know I'm not the girl to just call and chat for no reason no matter how good of friends we are. I've only talked to my wife (Janie) like 3 times since I moved to WA. ("what am I gonna say - Hey, I just want you to know that I'm still alive. Ok talk to you later. - I hate calling people" - inside joke with my sister) It doesn't mean I love you less OP, or anyone else for that matter, you know how I am and that is exactly how our love is. In fact quite possibly it means I love you so much that I can't even bare the pain of hearing your voice and not having you near me. Let's go with that and not that I'm horrible at keeping in touch. (I wonder how my sister's been since I left) Anyway, we decided I should write a blog about the way we are today compared to when we first started hanging out. Oh the laughter we shared in the hilarity of how much we have changed.

So I am now 22 and my step sister just turned 18, which caused me to look at my life since I turned 18. I realized, holy crap, I've actually grown up a lot and and am WAY different than when I was 18. When I was 18 is when I first met OP when we both worked at Jamba Juice in Orem. HAHA I just thought of so many funny things that happened there. (Just for you OP - Eric falling down while screamin SHIZAM!; throwing ice at the ceiling; her tattoo; kelly's napkin note; "we should sell kittens here") I know you are all wondering - yes it was I that said we should sell kittens there, and I still think they should. Aw man does anyone remember my kitten Marbles? I miss that annoying beast that peed in my car. Ok back to the subject, if I can ever keep on the subject. (My brothers friend literally said "I love going to dinner with you guys, it's like going to dinner with a bunch of drunks" cuz we are all like this, ok mostly me. shut up)
ANYWAY, we were just laughing about the things we used to do and what we do now. For example how we used to go to Mo's in SLC EVERY Sunday night and now every Sunday you will find us at church. Neither of us could really have cared less about going to church back then. I don't think I even started going back to church or even considering myself LDS until March 07. I never saw that coming when I was 18, 19. Oh man OP remember this time - Area 51, you and Kelly, me driving her Jetta home - I think you can see what I'm talking about, funny times. That's not all we reminisced about but no need to tell my life story on the Internet. We just looked back at our old selves and realized we were completely useless and going nowhere and it was hilarious and good to see that we are now currently "going somewhere" at least hopefully. Life is funny and looking back sometimes I wonder how it all worked out/is working out the way it has/is. Like holy crap did my best friend Chelsea really die in Nov 05 and I really actually survived through that. Granted yes it took me til about March 07 until I fully felt normal again (notice that coincides with something else, hmm funny) but I did. And a whole lot of other stuff but I think everyone knows what I mean when you look back at your life and realize all the things that have happened. Weird.

Well that's all. Funny OP isn't it. ah life.

Sunday, April 5, 2009

Chicks Love My G'd up Swagger

Sweet, I finally found an appropriate situation to use my favorite rapper phrase "g'd up swagger".

I'm doing a new art project which is essentially kids of different ethnicity's faces, and I found this rad African kid. How does this picture not make you want to marry some hot NBA player (Chris Paul) or rapper just so you can get a son like this? It totally makes me want to. Definitely one of the cutest kids ever. It will be a joy to draw this one.